Channels are where you sort notes in Slite. They're always present in the left column so that you can easily jump from one channel to another. Bolded channels mean there's been activity you haven't viewed yet!

🔐 Types of channels

  • Open channels: all the notes will be visible by your entire organization. Great for channels where your team share processes and/or meeting notes. 
  • Private channels: these are channels in which only specific members belong. Great for channels where you collaborate on content, brainstorm etc. 

You can check out our templates for ideas!

All the notes and collections in this channel follow the privacy you set at the channel level.


🔑 Channel permissions 

As channel creator, you can set member permissions at the channel level in the channel settings. 

All the notes and collections in this channel are ruled by the permissions set at the channel level. Here are the rights of each role:

Admin
:
The channel creator is automatically an admin.

  • Can read, write and collaborate
  • Organize: add and rearrange collections
  • Manage the channel: add members, rename channel, delete channel.  Note: Team admins have these rights on all channels except Private notes.

Writer

  • Can read, write and collaborate
  • Organize: add and rearrange collections

Reader

  • Can read and collaborate

When the channel is open, you can set default member permissions and add custom permissions to individual members:

You can also use groups to set channel permissions in one go, to multiple members:

👋 Invite members 

If the channel is private, admins can easily invite new members and groups. Like in a public channel (gif above), access the permissions in your channel's settings and click on set more permissions to invite new people to this channel.

Find out more about channels:

Did this answer your question?