The Owner is the most powerful administrative role in Slite. You become an Owner by creating your own Slite team, or if an Owner chooses to transfer ownership to you.

Owner rights

Owner is the only one who can delete an account or transfer the ownership.
This role can manage all the permissions & all details in the team settings.

Transfer Ownership

Because organizations change over time, Slite makes it possible to transfer ownership of a workspace. 

💡 We recommend adding a step to your company’s off-boarding process to make sure a departing employee can transfer ownership before they leave.

If the Owner of record leaves before transferring ownership, we will still need to verify the identity of this person, with the information we have on file.

  • if you still have access to their email, you can email us asking for the transfer. For security's sake, you must use the email we have on file. 
  • Ask this person to reach out to us to confirm the transfer.

The owner can transfer ownership of a Slite team via Settings (by clicking the icon in the top left of your Slite team) > Members.

In the Members section, the owner can select the teammate they'd like to promote via the drop down menu to the right of their name to change their status to Owner.

Just confirm the transfer, and everything will be all set. ✨

And of course, please don't hesitate to reach out to support@slite.com with any questions! ✉️

Did this answer your question?